Homemade Deodorant

The very first change I really made and committed to – my maiden voyage, if you will – was making my own deodorant.

Deodorant contains aluminum and functions to essentially clog up your pores to keep anything from coming out (in layman’s terms).  That seems really unnatural at best and dreadfully, terrifyingly harmful at worst!

I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t eat the aluminum… I probably don’t want the stuff being absorbed by the largest organ on my body.

But this post is not designed to sway you in either direction. I’m assuming that if you’ve made it this far, you’ve already made the big step of deciding to make a change.  And good for you!

So, the recipe I use is a take on a few I’ve found.

The ingredients called for are as follows:

  • 2T baking soda (you can adjust this depending on power needed or skin sensitivity in later batches, another perk!)
  • 6T arrowroot powder (this ingredient was really intimidating to find, but I’ve seen it at BJ’s Health Food stores, so look in those types of places!)
  • 4T coconut oil (I get this brand)
  • 10-20 drops essential oil of choice (my favorites are lime and grapefruit for their scents, but a lot of people love the power that tea tree oil adds to the mixture)

IMG_1353

First step is to combine the arrowroot powder so that the baking soda is evenly distributedIMG_1355After that, you’ll mix in the coconut oil and get a nice creamy mixture.

Stir in your essential oils

IMG_1357

Your mixture should look a little something like this

IMG_1361

Okay, this last step is at your own discretion.  The first time I made it, I thought I’d get clever and use an old deodorant container.

Unfortunately, it didn’t roll up so I wound up digging the mixture out with a q-tip and putting it on.

This time, I used a shallow pizza sauce jar I happened to save.  It works great!!  I’m far more pleased with that route!
Plus, the first time I did half the recipe.  So bear in mind, I double this recipe so I have to make it half as often because my time is pretty valuable to me and I don’t want to have to make this too often!

IMG_1369
This was my final product.  Had it rolled up like it should have, it’d have been perfect.

But you know what?  I don’t really mind the sauce jar!!  I actually think it looks kind of cute too!

And I loooove that I was able to make twice as much!

So for a general idea of how long this should last you: the first batch I made was in September of 2012.  I just had to make some more a couple of weeks ago. So the half batch lasted about 4 months.

I don’t know yet how long this batch will go, but I’d be confident in saying probably 6-8 at least.

You can get really crazy and try all sorts of different essential oils!  I gotta say, I’m LOVING the coconut lime this time around.

Quick tip: try not to apply right after shaving your underarms, especially if you have particularly sensitive skin.  I know for me and my sister, it tends to irritate our skin!  But shaving the night before lends the best results for me.  If I HAVE to shave, sometimes I’ll just use it anyway, but I put it on right before I head out the door.  Or, alternatively, I’ll just use straight coconut oil that day.  Either works for me, but I don’t sweat too much usually.

Good luck!

Cyndi

2 thoughts on “Homemade Deodorant

  1. Pingback: Raw Cheese « Crunchy Sissies

  2. Pingback: Baby Steps – Master List « Crunchy Sissies

Leave a Reply

