Plant a Garden


I love going to the farmer’s market, don’t get me wrong.

But boy, some Thursdays it feels almost impossible to drag myself out of bed, get me AND Lincoln dressed, and drive across town!  While I recognize that this is totally a first-world problem, I still do struggle with leaving the house.  ;]

So wouldn’t it be nice if there were some magical way to cut down on my farmer’s market needs?

Enter: gardening

This year, for the first time ever, I am going to try to garden.

Well, let me be completely honest, actually.  Last year I tried to garden.  Sorta.  With my basic, non-organic seeds and a store bought kit with minimal directions.  I thought I could manage without putting any effort forth.

All I wound up growing was mold.

So, I retreated, did some studying, and I’m back and better than ever this year!

To start, I scoured the internet.  I did hours and hours of research, I talked to a ton of people, and I landed on organic, raised-bed gardening.

I am starting out basic this year with a nice little collection of tomatoes, lettuce, and zucchini.  At the last minute, I also impulse bought some basil.

So my first step was planting a garden.

I bought some inexpensive, biodegradable pots, some organic potting soil, and some Seeds of Change seeds.  I went with heirloom seeds, which have the most benefits, in my opinion.

I liked the fact that I was able to purchase the seeds at Lowe’s!  All except zucchini, which had unfortunately sold out.

So, to start my garden….IMG_7309

I used an old, emptied rubbermaid I was storing fabric in.  I can put the fabric back in it later.

IMG_7310I then put my cups in the container,

IMG_7313filled each cup full with soil up to within about an inch of the brim,

IMG_7318planted my seeds according to their individual directions (these are lettuce seeds),

IMG_7327and sprayed them with filtered water until the walls of the pots were saturated.

IMG_7332I then took some ClingWrap (stay with me!!),

IMG_7331

and some plastic forks,

IMG_7335

and I made a sort of greenhouse for my little babies.

IMG_7337

Then I stuck ’em up on top of the fridge for warmth, and let them do their thing!!

And boy, I was absolutely blown away to see this sight after just 6 days!!

IMG_7487

IMG_7486

IMG_7485

Now, let me be clear about something.  I am fighting a genetic predisposition to a black thumb.  Our mom has definitely killed some plants in her day.  Well, she kept a plant alive for over a year, gave it to me, and I killed it!!!!  I’d like to think that would have happened anyway…

But I’m pretty sure that’s not the case.

I have never kept anything alive for long.  Although last year’s mold had a pretty good run!

I’m terrified that I’m going to invest all this time and effort and not be fit to adequately care for these baby plants.

But, I was completely inspired to try by this verse in the Bible:

19 By the sweat of your brow
you will eat your food
until you return to the ground,
since from it you were taken;
for dust you are
and to dust you will return.”

-Genesis 3:19

Now yes, I realize that this verse is outlining the curse that man faces for sin.  But you know what?   It made me realize that we are living in a kind of weird situation where we don’t really do the work for our own foods.

I kind of want to see how it goes when we work the ground ourselves.

Rather than eating chemicals, we are clearly designed to eat plants and fruits.  And I don’t think those plants and fruits were really designed to be doused in toxins.

I know that keeping a garden will be work.  But I think it’s going to be an incredibly beneficial addition to our family.

It’s already so fun, too, to show my little Linky the sprouts and compare the different types with him.  He doesn’t understand yet, but year after year, he will look forward to waking up and checking on our plants.  This is one of his very first lessons in earth science!

I am also building connections with people in a way I never have before.  I have mentorship in my friend Bonnie, who has gardened before (she gave me the confidence to forge ahead!).  I remembered seeing tomato plants in her backyard, and asked her about gardening.

Come to find out, she’s planning to do a raised-bed garden this year too!!  How funny, because I don’t think I’d have really known if I hadn’t asked!

I am finding free manure and mulch, and I am trying to make this as economical as possible.  That is supposed to be a huge benefit to gardening, so I don’t want to go overboard, spending on things I don’t even need.

Keep checking back for more updates on our little garden!

~Cyndi

Leave a Reply

