Make Your Own Cleaning Products

Ditch the Ajax, and come over to the light side!

One of the easiest, most effective ways to begin removing harmful chemicals from your home and venture further toward that ultimate crunchy goal is to grab a giant trash bag, and empty out your cupboards!  As you are chucking things into the trash, pay close attention to all commercial cleaning products.

Are you ever scrubbing your shower down, and due to the confined space and haz-mat-worthy fumes, find yourself faint?

There’s a reason for that!  You are breathing in those incredibly harmful toxins as they whisk the dirt off your coutnertops.

Would you believe me if I said you can do the same quality of cleaning without the harmful chemicals flooding your lungs?

One of  my favorite gateways into crunchiness is making your own cleaning products!

So, here’s what you’ll need:

At least one spray bottle (I love larger ones so I have to make my products less often)

Vinegar

Tea tree oil

Hydrogen Peroxide

Baking Soda

And that’s it!  Say WHAAAAT???  Yep!  You know all those bottles beneath your sink, crowding out any actual utility?  You can now minimize with these simple ingredients in your artillery!!

Here are the formulas I stick to:

All-Purpose Cleaner and Windex

I fill my spray bottle with about 70% vinegar, 30% water.  I then add about 10 drops of tea tree oil for every 24 ounces or so.   Some people have complained about streaks as a windex, but I have never had any problems!

Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Sprinkle a little baking soda around the bowl of your toilet.  If you need extra power, spray it with hydrogen peroxide (always make sure to store any and all hydrogen peroxide in the dark bottle it comes in to keep it activated.  Ideally, put a spraying nozzle screwed on the bottle).  Usually, I just squirt it with a little vinegar mixture though, and scrub as normal.

Disinfectant

Spray your vinegar solution followed by your hydrogen peroxide.  Or vice versa!!  This method has been shown to be even more effective at disinfecting than even commercial products on the market!  Just make sure you don’t mix the two together in one container!!  It creates peracetic acid, and has entirely different properties than the two alone!

 

That’s pretty much it!  No need to customize different cleaners for each job.  This works great straight across the board!  You don’t need a lot of fancy ingredients.

Occasionally, I like the smell of citrus when cleaning, so I will add a little lime, lemon, or grapefruit oil to my cleaner.  But the tea tree gives it a nice, effective smell!  I usually just stick with that.

Good luck!  Enjoy the crunchy cleaning!

~Cyndi

Leave a Reply

